Department of English, College of LAS, University of Illinois

Illinois Department of English Blog


Welcome to the Department of English blog.

My name is Vicki Mahaffey and I took over as
head of the department on July 1, 2016. I'll be using this site to post updates and information of interest to our faculty, students, and alumni,
along with reflections about our discipline(s) in particular and the humanities in general. As anyone who has ever worked or studied here knows, the Department of English is a vibrant place. If you have something you'd like to see posted here, or if you want to contact me about the content of this blog, drop me an email at

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Incomplete List - Fall 2008: congrats to all!

The Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) on campus has recently released a draft version of its latest List of Faculty Ranked as Excellent by their Students based on Fall 2008 student evaluation data. They don't use the term incomplete list any longer, but, as I explained in a post here last Fall, I like the term and it is one that is still active in local parlance. So I'm stubbornly going to use it.

Though the CTE says that the Fall 2008 Incomplete List is a draft, they have made it public. So I will, once again, post here the names of all those faculty members who appear on it for their efforts in their English, Creative Writing, Rhetoric, and Business & Technical Writing classes. We are a very strong teaching department (as I may have mentioned before here), and I really appreciate the efforts of all our dedicated classroom instructors, including those of us who taught both conscientiously and effectively and yet missed the incomplete list cutoff (I include myself in this category for Fall 2008, by the way). The people whose names appear here should be very proud of their successes, and we as a department should all be proud that the list is a long one every semester!

So without further ado: here are the English department teachers from the (draft) Fall 2008 Incomplete list:

Sara Alderfer, Sarah Alexander, Claire Barber, Iryce Baron, Manisha Basu, Rebeccah Bechtold, Michael Behrens, Lillian Bertram, Michael Black, T. J. Boynton, Jaime Brunton, Sandy Camargo, Stephanie Cherolis, John Claborn, Stephen Claverie, Megan Condis, Bethany Cooper, Leslie Crowell, Sarah Dennis, Lindsey Drager, Dennis Dullea, Eve Eure, Lori Garner, Melissa Girard, Sarah Gray, John Griswold, Jim Hansen, Gail Hapke, Janice Harrington, Matt Hart, Debra Hawhee, Gail Hawisher, Mary Hays, Ashley Hetrick, Marilyn Holguin, Ann Hubert, Anna Ivy, Amy Rowan Kaplan, Susan Koshy, Eileen Lagman, Carl Lehnen, Jennifer Lieberman, Mary Lindsey, Samantha Looker, Tania Lown-Hecht, Ellen McWhorter, Michael Madonick, Lara Mann, Matthew Minicucci, Amy Doherty Mohr, Peter Mortensen, Andrew Moss, Michael Odom, Robert Dale Parker, Tony Pollock, Catherine Prendergast, Paul Prior, Thierry Ramais, Amity Reading, Franklin Ridgway, David Roark, John Rubins, Kerstin Rudolph, John Sanders, Julia Saville, Christina Scheuer, E. Jordan Sellers, Frank Sheets, Michael Simeone, Katherine Skwarczek, Spencer Snow, Andrea Stevens, Clint Stevens, Crystal Thomas, Renée Trilling, Agnieszka Tuszynska, Ted Underwood, Joe Valente, Michael Verderame, Jason Vredenburg, Kathryn Walkiewicz, Martha Webber, Kirstin Wilcox, Kyle Williams, David Wright

Congratulations to one and all!

No comments:

Blog Archive