Department of English, College of LAS, University of Illinois

Illinois Department of English Blog


Welcome to the Department of English blog.

My name is Vicki Mahaffey and I took over as
head of the department on July 1, 2016. I'll be using this site to post updates and information of interest to our faculty, students, and alumni,
along with reflections about our discipline(s) in particular and the humanities in general. As anyone who has ever worked or studied here knows, the Department of English is a vibrant place. If you have something you'd like to see posted here, or if you want to contact me about the content of this blog, drop me an email at

Monday, March 7, 2016

Awards, Fellowships, and Teaching Excellence (Updated x 4!)

It’s the time of the year when it makes sense to start tallying the awards and fellowships received by Department of English faculty and students during the 2015-2016 year. The season is not over yet, and I will update this list as other news comes in, but there is already a substantial amount of good news to announce—and as anyone following the budget situation in Illinois knows, we need all the good news we can get!

It thus gives me great pleasure to present the following, rather long list of awardees:

Derrick Spires has received a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Humanities;

Waïl Hassan has received an ACLS Fellowship;

Dennis Baron has won a Guggenheim Fellowship;

Joy Harjo won the Wallace Stevens Award from the Academy of American Poets; her book Conflict Resolution for Holy Beings was an American Library Association Notable Book of the Year;

Irvin Hunt has won a Rutgers University Postdoctoral Fellowship in African American Literature;

Janice Harrington has received a Ragdale Residential Creative Fellowship;

Lori Newcomb won a short-term fellowship at the Huntington Library; 

John Rubins has received a residency from the Bush Creek Foundation for the Arts in Saratoga, Wyoming;

Ryan Flanagan has received a Writer's Fellowship from the Edward F. Albee Foundation; 

Manisha Basu has received a fellowship from the Center for Advanced Study;

Andrew Gaedtke has been named co-winner of the IPRH Prize for Best Faculty Research;

Elizabeth Taveres has been selected as the winner of the IPRH Prize for Best Graduate Student Research;

Patricia Fleming, an English major, has been selected as the winner of the IPRH Prize for Best Undergraduate Research;

John Moore has been named a Humanities Without Walls Pre-Doctoral Workshop Fellow;

Rebecah Pulsifer has been named Andrew W. Mellon Pre-Doctoral Fellow in Bio-Humanities at the Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities;

Tim Dean has received an IPRH Fellowship;

Graduate students Christine Hedlin and Maggie Shelledy have received Graduate Student IPRH Fellowships;

Eric Pritchard and Sandra Ruiz are the co-winners of the Criticism and Interpretive Theory Junior Research Fellowship from the Unit for Criticism and Interpretive Theory.

J.B. Capino has been awarded Humanities Released Time by the Campus Research Board;

Rob Barrett has received a Mid-Career Faculty Release-Time Award and has also won the LAS Dean’s Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching;

Wendy Truran has won the LAS Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching by Graduate Teaching Assistants as well as the campus Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching award;

Dave Morris has won the LAS Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching by Instructional Staff;

Kaia Simon, Debora Tienou, and Wendy Truran have won departmental teaching awards in the Graduate Teaching Assistant category;

Natalie Mesnard, Dave Morris, and Isabel Quintana Wulf have won departmental teaching awards in the Specialized Faculty category;

Carol Spindel won the Campus Honors Program Broadrick-Allen Teaching Award;

And, last but definitely not least, a large number of faculty and TAs from our BTW, Creative Writing, English, and Rhetoric classes in fall 2015 have been included on the List of Teachers Ranked as Excellent by Their Students:

Iryce Baron, Rob Barrett, Manisha Basu, Paul Beilstein, Adrienne Bosworth, Andrew Bowman, Maria Carvajal Regidor, Michelle Chan, Erin Chandler, John Claborn, Mary Rose Cottingham, Eleanor Courtemanche, David Coyoca,  Chekwube Danladi, Tim Dean,  Michael Don, Dennis Dullea, Chelsea Farmer, Ryan Flanagan, John Gallagher, Eman Ghanayem, Shawn Gilmore, Catharine Gray, Joe Grohens, Ceridwen Hall, Jim Hansen, Joy Harjo, Janice Harrington, William Hechler, Marilyn Holguin, Michael Hurley, Candice Jenkins, Damian Johansson, Jamie Jones, Annie Kelvie, Katherine Kendig, Patrick Kimutis, Susan Koshy, Bruce Kovanen, Allison Kranek, Aaron LaDuke, Mary Lindsey, Trish Loughran, Coral Lumbley, Michael Madonick, Helen Makhdoumian, Bob Markley, Heather McLeer, Zach McVicker, Jessica Mercado, Natalie Mesnard, Matthew Minicucci, Dave Morris, Justine Murison, Hina Nazar, Katherine Norcross, Matthew O’Brien, Michael Odom, Robert Parker, Alexandra Patterson, Alaina Pincus, Samantha Plasencia,  Anthony Pollock, Rebecah Pulsifer, Julie Price, Scott Ricketts, Carla Rosell, John Rubins, Ted Sanders, Julia Saville, William Schwartz, Jordan Sellers, Alex Shakar, Michael Shetina, Kaia Simon, Christine Sneed, Siobhan Somerville, Ramón Soto-Crespo, Andrea Stevens, Alison Syring Bassford,  Eric Thomas, Carl Thompson, Nafissa Thompson-Spires, Ted Underwood,  Elyse Vigiletti, Jess Williard, Gregory Webb, Kelly Williams, Jessica Witte, Jessica Wong, Jarvis Young, and Jessica Young.

Blog Archive